InfluxDB OSS 2.0.1 giving unauthorized messages after install

Hi I’m completely new to InfluxDB and am trying to learn how it works but struggling. I’ve got a brand new Ubuntu 20.04.1 install, nothing extra done other than install the base OS and run apt update and apt upgrade.

I’ve followed the getting started page Get started with InfluxDB | InfluxDB OSS 2.0 Documentation to download and install v2.0.1 of InfluxDB onto my machine. I then run the influxd command to start the service and can connect on port 8086 from a Windows desktop machine on the same subnet to the GUI where it presents me with a Get Started button. I complete the Setup Initial User page to create a user, org and bucket and the GUI now displays a page telling me I am ready go and presents me with the options on how to start collecting data. I choose the Quick Start option and it tells me it has created a dashboard and a scraper. At this point everything is fine, the terminal window where I started the service still shows the last message from startup that it is Listening on port 8086 and no errors have appeared in the GUI.

If I click on the link in the GUI to open the newly created dashboard it never loads any data, I can browse to the http:///:8086/metrics page it is using as the data source which opens fine. In the terminal window a message has now appeared
info Unauthorized {“log_id”: “0QShGC30000”, “error”: “token required”}