Unable to replicate top function in flux

I’m new to Flux query and have been trying to convert InfluxQL to FluxQL and having lot of issues or inaccurate data. Following query is in Influxql:

SELECT top("value","name",1) FROM (SELECT non_negative_derivative(last("weighted_io_time"), 1ms) AS "value" FROM "diskio" WHERE ("host" =~ /^$data_nodes_prod$/ AND "name" !~ /[0-9]/) AND $timeFilter GROUP BY time($__interval), "host", "name" fill(null)) GROUP BY "host"

For which I could write following fluxql but it does not give me the correct answer. Even I’ve tried with pivot but don’t understand where and how exactly this could be implemented.

from(bucket: v.bucket)
  |> range(start: v.timeRangeStart)
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r._measurement == "diskio")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r._field == "weighted_io_time")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["name"] == "/[0-9]/")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => contains(value: r["host"], set: ${data_nodes:json}))
  |> derivative(unit: 1ms, nonNegative: true)
  |> top(n: 1)

Thanks in advance.

Hello @mr_sharma,
Welcome!
Thanks for your question. I would translate this:

SELECT top("value","name",1) FROM (SELECT non_negative_derivative(last("weighted_io_time"), 1ms) AS "value" FROM "diskio" WHERE ("host" =~ /^$data_nodes_prod$/ AND "name" !~ /[0-9]/) AND $timeFilter GROUP BY time($__interval), "host", "name" fill(null)) GROUP BY "host"

If you’re just looking at the top 1 value, I’d use the max() function instead. I’m confused how you’re getting a derivative after just getting the last() value.

I recommend splitting your subquery up incrementally and translating each bit to flux. In other words, try getting successfully filtering for your data first, then applying the last() function successfully, then the derivative, etc.

My Flux query would look like:

|> filter(fn: (r) => r["host"] ==/^$data_nodes_prod$/ and r["name"] == "/[0-9]/")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => contains(value: r["host"], set: ${data_nodes:json}))