[Solved] Writing a TICKscript to aggregate multiple measurements into one

Hello,

I’m fairly new to working with InfluxDB and time-series databases in general. I was reading the Kapacitator TICKscript documentation to learn a little more about how I might be able to write a Kapacitor TICKscript to aggregate some data that I’m working with.

Problem

In one database, there are multiple measurements with various data spread across them (e.g. cpu_user_seconds_total, cpu_system_seconds_total, etc.). I would like to combine these multiple measurements into one so I can better model them in a visual tool.

Currently, these metrics are collected via Telegraf and pushed to an InfluxDB database. It is not an option for me to alter how these measurements are originally collected. Eventually, this data is modeled in a Grafana dashboard.

Idea

The idea I had was about writing a TICKscript that would…

1. Take the various measurements from one Influx database
  2. Rewrite them together with different selectors into a single measurement
  3. Push the new measurement back to the Influx database

I was trying to figure out how to do this with a TICKscript and Kapacitor, but it isn’t entirely clear to me about where to begin on figuring out how to do this since there isn’t a whole lot of documentation about the TICKscript DSL (or at least in a way that I understand).

Could anyone offer some pointers on how I could set out to do this? Or is there a totally obvious and easier way to do this than I am missing?

Thanks!

EDIT: This is similar to this thread, but this is the problem I’m trying to circumvent by rewriting the multiple measurements into one.

EDIT2: This post was flagged as spam and I was required to edit the post for it to show back up again.

There is an open request in Influx to do what you want (math across measurements), but right now you’re correct the only way to do this is to combine the two measurements into separate field of a new third measurement.