Raspberry Pi beginner

Hello,

I’m a beginner at all this, and i’ve been trying for weeks to get MQTT data out of Python, into Telegraf, on to Influxdb and out on to a grafana graphics environment.

I have all of the components installed in place. I am successfully transmitting MQTT data out of Python. This is where I start falling down though. The instruction and help I find all over the internet is not proving sufficient for me, so I think i’m needing a more personalised approach to support. I’m hoping that I can find this here as nowhere else is able to help me. I think im getting data into Telegraf, but there is always parcing issues, or formatting issues in my live logging, or virtually no message at all. Sometimes I’ve had “metrics delivered” or words to that effect, to influxdb, but I really don’t know how to check this in Influxdb, and I certainly cannot get anything to grafana.
what is the best approach for me to get much more of a one on one support line on this software where I can show my config files and evidence of my MQTT messages from Python to check for compatibility etc please.

Best Regards,

Chris

When you go to http://your-computer-ip-address:8086 and login, then go to the Influx Data Explorer, do you see anything that resembles what you are piping out via Telegraf?

Hi Grant, thank you for your reply.

I think you’re directing me to the influxdb webpage, but unfortunately that doesn’t work on a Raspberry Pi running the still advised 32-bit operating system, so I can’t use that for any level of transparency.

I’ll probably have to post up here or some place what I have - config file wise so that people can point me out the error of my ways.

Until I’m in a position to do this, what I can do right now, is explain what I’m trying to do…

I’ve written a Python 3 script which takes in a bunch of variables independently of one another. They are all floats.