How to add Influx 2.0 in my apt repo?

Hi,

I’m new to the linux world…, and need help with the following:

Previously I could apt update -> apt upgrade to upgrade to the newest version of influx (pre v2).
How can I add v2 to my ubuntu repository?

Thanks

Anyone with information about this?

Thanks for the reply, but I can’t find any information about adding influx 2 in my apt repo.
For example, in this link: Install InfluxDB OSS | InfluxDB OSS 1.8 Documentation you can add the repo to apt.

I am currently running influx 2.0.1 and In /etc/apt/sources.list.d/influxdb.list I have:
deb https://repos.influxdata.com/ubuntu focal stable
Running apt update and apt upgrade it won’t upgrade to 2.0.2.

Hi @Baarken

I think there is no repo available for now.
Does anyone know when the repo will be updated?

https://repos.influxdata.com

Thanks!

+1
That would be of great help for us as well

@scott Any thoughts?

Hi all, we’re working through setting up the packages for 2.x today. I’ll reply here once it’s ready.

2 Likes

v2.0.3 is now live at repos.influxdata.com!

A few notes:

First, to prevent users from accidentally pulling down a breaking change via apt-get upgrade, we chose to move to a new package named influxdb2. The new package is configured to conflict with the old one.

Second, we wrote a new helper script to automate the V1->V2 upgrade process when using the standard paths for these packages. Unfortunately, we forgot to update our packaging logic to include the new script in our .deb and .rpms :man_facepalming: We’ll fix the problem in 2.0.4, but in the meantime you can find it on our GitHub here.

3 Likes

Great! When do you plan to release 2.0.4 with this fix?

1 Like

@dan-moran

Second, we wrote a new helper script to automate the V1->V2 upgrade process when using the standard paths for these packages.

Thanks for building the upgrade script!
What will occur when the customer has only changed the data path in the influxdb.conf to a different location?