Error running agent: Error: no inputs found, did you provide a valid config file

Hello There,

my use case is to have multiple input files to handled by telegraf,

what I have done is so far, added few input files under /etc/telegraf/telegraf.d/ and created telegraf.conf file with below parameters under /etc/telegraf/telegraf.conf

this is how my telegraf.conf looks like

[XXXX@frXXXX config]# cat telegraf.conf

#Custom configuration for Infra  Monitoring*

**[[outputs.influxdb]]**
**urls = ["https://influxdb-XXXXX.example.com/"]**
**database = "telegraf"**
**timeout = "15s"**

but I am getting below error ,

2022-05-13T15:47:54Z I! Using config file: /etc/telegraf/telegraf.conf
2022-05-13T15:47:54Z E! [telegraf] Error running agent: Error: no inputs found, did you provide a valid config file?

can someone help me what I am doing wrong here, I am new to telegraf.

Regards,
SAM

Hey @sameer_khamkar,

how do you start telegraf? Please make sure that all your config files are found, i.e. you should start with

telegraf --config /etc/telegraf/telegraf.conf --config-dir /etc/telegraf/telegraf.d

and all your config files in /etc/telegraf/telegraf.d should have .conf as file extension (otherwise they are not found by telegraf).

If that does not help, please post the log file with --debug enabled.

Best regards,
Sven

Hello @srebhan ,

I have not named all the inputs as .conf I will test by creating those, also I am starting telegraf with entrypoint.sh script in docker container as suggested in telegraf github.

I will test and let you know,

thank you for your time and support.

Regards,
SAM

1 Like

@srebhan

below thing I have performed still getting same issue

created input files with extension .conf and placed under /etc/telegraf/telegraf.d
kept empty telegraf.conf file under /etc/telegraf/

still issue occurs notr sure why, can you help me to resolve this.

Regards,
SAM

How do you start telegraf?