Disable GZIP for database backups

Hello community. I’m new to Influx DB and I think I have things running nicely. However, I’m unable to figure our how to do database backup WITHOUT the Gzip encoding of the tar files. I’ve looked at the help for the backup command and I don’t see an option to disable the GZIP compression. Here’s the command I’m using to backup the Influx server data:

influxd backup -portable -host ${INFLUXDB_HOST}:${INFLUXDB_PORT} “${OUTPUT_DIR}”

The backup command works fine, however I’d like to have backup files NOT Gzipped. Is there a secret option for this?

Compressing backups is desirable for space efficiency, since a fair amount of the time they are saved and not used again. What’s your need to save uncompressed backups for?

My backups are written to a dedupe appliance. When writing compressed data to dedupe appliance, dedupe is unable to dedupe the data because it’s compressed.

1 Like

Hi @Aaron_Newsome! I can confirm that it’s currently not possible to do the backup without Gzip’ing the resulting tar files. I created an issue in our GitHub repo for a feature request to allow for this: Allow for running a backup without gzip'ing the result in tar · Issue #21576 · influxdata/influxdb · GitHub

1 Like

Have you tried gunzipping the backup? (Or even using zcat and piping it into your destination? )

Well, the backup is a cronjob, the command:

influxd backup -portable -host ${INFLUXDB_HOST}:${INFLUXDB_PORT} “${OUTPUT_DIR}”

Is run as the actual cronjob. In order to pipe the results of the command to something that unzips the files means I’d have to use pipes in my cronjob (which I don’t like to do), or write a script that does the backup and unzips the file before writing to the file share. Also, not all the files are gzipped. The .meta and .manifest files are in plain text, so If I piped the backup result to an unzipper, I’d need to skip these files.