CLI broken since update today

Hi.

I’ve been using InfluxDB under Debian Linux for several months, and I have a script which regularly runs, including the command:

influx -database telegraf -execute “select RTT from mqtt_consumer where RTT>10000”

Since today, this now gives me an error:

Error: unknown shorthand flag: ‘d’ in -database
See ‘influx -h’ for help

The command “influx -h” gives me no clue how I should now be using or expressing the -database and -execute options.

apt-cache policy tells me that I’m now running influxdb 2.0.1, so I’m assuming this means my machine has done an upgrade from 1.8 to 2.0, and this has broken my scripts.

Where can I find the documentation about how I should adjust my script to do what it used to under Influx 1.8?

influx - InfluxDB command line interface | InfluxDB OSS 1.8 Documentation reminds me of how things used to work, and points me at influx - InfluxDB command line interface | InfluxDB OSS 2.0 Documentation for “the equivalent InfluxDB v2.0 documentation”, but it’s not equivalent at all - it doesn’t tell me how to execute a command on a particular database from a script.

So, where do I find the conversion notes on “how to do in 2.0 what you used to do in 1.8”?

Alternatively, which repository can I point at to reinstall 1.8 until I know how to fix this? I’m currently using InfluxDB - Package Repository and I don’t find 1.8 in there any more…

Thanks,

Antony.

Hi.

Has no-one else run into this problem as well (either the update in the Debian
package which doesn’t tell you it’s going to break things, or simply the
deliberate upgrade to 2.0, and then wondering “how do I make things work
again?”).

I hope there is some documentation telling previous 1.8 users how to do the
same CLI stuff in 2.0.

Can anyone please kindly point me at it?

Thanks,

Antony.

Phew!

InfluxDB - Package Repository now has 1.8.3-1 available again, and a
downgrade to this has restored my CLI functionality :slight_smile: