Approach for software version monitoring

Hi there,

I am new to this fabulous world of InfluxDB. I have a project for monitoring multiples PLCs like signals, status but also software versions and have an history of them.
A python script retrieves versions of different softwares and files from various locations (file product, code variable, etc.).

For the moment, all the versions I retrieve are build with number, ex : 1.2 or 1.2.3 or even 1.2.3.4
So it could have different depth (major revision, minor rev. release build, patch, …).

Initially, I used strings to store these values. I can see them in the Data Explore if I activate the “View Raw Data” mode, but in the graph I have no value. I don’t have this problem with non-string values. The same behaviour happen if I copy the query and use it in Grafana :

from(bucket: "mybucket_versions")
  |> range(start: v.timeRangeStart, stop: v.timeRangeStop)
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["_measurement"] == "Version")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["SN"] == "SN/002025")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["System"] == "HMI")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["_field"] == "Version")
  |> aggregateWindow(every: v.windowPeriod, fn: last, createEmpty: false)
  |> yield(name: "last")

As a second step, I was wondering if it is not possible to store this in another way. Maybe with several fields (one for each level of the version)? The idea would be to be able to view the PLCs with such major and minor revision (without taking into account the lower levels).

Has anyone ever encountered a similar problem?

Thank you for your help !

Hi , yes you can definitely change the way you’re storing the version info splitting major/minor/build numbers as separate columns.

If you want that to be displayable visually in chronograph, those columns need to be of integer or maybe float.