Add series to measurement(prometheus)

Hello All,

We have prometheus that gathers data and store them in influxdb. However, when I execute ‘SHOW MEASUREMENTS’, I am not seeing any but when I execute ‘SHOW SERIES’ I can see thousands of entry.

I was trying to use INTO in the query but it requires measurement and in my case, I can see nothing. Please help me on how can I do this?

PS - I am new to influxdb

Wouldn’t you need to select the database in the show measurements query (show measurements on db) or set the database prior to the show query (using “use db”)?

Hello dmuiruri,

before I execute show mesurement, I first execute use

steps I performed:

1. USE
  2. SHOW MEASUREMENTS -->nothing shows
  3. SHOW SERIES --> I can see thousands of entry

What I need is to remove/delete series

Ok, the db would anyway ask you to set the database.

Well, consider to show a sample input of the line protocol or some output of the indicated series, anything that could help someone reproduce the error.

I had encountered a problem that is opposite to yours. It’s related to retention policy.
I write to self-defined retention policy(not default one).
Show series shows nothing; Show measurement show the measurement I write to.

Here’s the sample output for ‘SHOW SERIES’. I removed the values for company rules

_,name=up,az=ap-northeast-1c,domain=<removed_value>,env=<removed_value>,job=Process(Linux),name=<removed_value>,private_ip=<removed_value>,role=csr,service=<removed_value>,subnet_id=,subnet-c376bc98,,system=<removed_value>,vpc_id=<removed_value>

Here’s for ‘SHOW MEASUREMENTS’

SHOW MEASUREMENTS
name: measurements
name

zqq,

Did you resolve that issue?

In the show series results you posted how many series are those: two series, one or more? I would think that the dumped result would show something like each series for single line.