Unable to delete data

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to InfluxDB (have version 1.5.1). I use it with Grafana and Icinga2. I’m confused for managing the data, specifically deletion. I have entries “in the future” because my server time got offset and ended up writing data to the database during this period. So, after setting the time back to normal, I tried to execute the following command:

delete from grafana where time > now(), where grafana is the name of my database

The command runs without error, but when I query the HTTP API with the following command, I still see “future” entries:

curl -G 'http://localhost:8086/query?pretty=true' --data-urlencode "db=grafana" --data-urlencode "q=SELECT \"value\" FROM \"SOMECHECK\" WHERE \"hostname\"='SOMEHOSTNAME'"

I tried to edit the delete statement to:

delete from grafana where time > '2018-04-10T14:27:00Z

delete from grafana where time < now() + 24h (saw this in some old thread)

delete from SOMECHECK where time > now()

… but none of the above seemed to do anything.

Perhaps I have the delete functionality completely incorrect? Anyone have some insight?

Thanks in advance!

P.S.
I contacted InfluxDB support and they told me that the worst case scenario was to drop the database and restart. Preferably I wouldn’t like to do this.

Also, I checked these threads (1st thread, 2nd thread) that seemed to have a similar issue to mine but they don’t seem to help too much.

Hi,

I suspect (but have not tested) that you need to specify both a start time and an end time in your DELETE statement. For example,

DELETE FROM grafana WHERE time>'2017-04-10T14:27:00Z' AND time<'2019-01-01T00:00:00Z'

It’s also possible that you need to specify some tags in the DELETE for it to work properly.