Schema design: peer review request

Hi all,

I’m a total influxdb newbie and I would really appreciate a schema review from experts.

My (academic) project is based on some Green Button data (energy consumption in kWh) stored in CSV files. We have one CVS file per site, each containing the following columns: date time utc, consumption value, ‘estimated’ flag. On the other end, we have some metadata concerning the sites: industrial sector, latitude, longitude, time zone. Reading a previous post I decided to create a single measurement called ‘energy_usage’ containing points with the following format :

energy_usage_point = {
    ‘measurement’: ‘energy_usage’,
    ‘time’: string ,
    ‘fields’: {
        ‘value’: float
    },
    ‘tags’: {
        ‘site’: int,
        ‘industry’: string,
        ‘latitude’: float,
        ‘longitude’: float,
        'geohash': string,
        ‘time_zone’: string
    }
}

This scheme seems to provide acceptable performances but could we do better?

I had a look to the schema design recommandations provided by the (excellent) influxdb doc [1]. The very first recommandation tells us to limit the number of series. My schema generates 205 series [2] for the single measurement we have. Is that to much or acceptable ?

Thanks for your help.
Nicolas.

[1] https://docs.influxdata.com/influxdb/v1.6/concepts/schema_and_data_layout 1

[2] influx -database ‘mydatabase’ -format ‘csv’ -execute ‘SHOW SERIES’ | grep -v “name,_id,host” | wc -l

I’m assuming that:

• You have one sensor per site.
  • The industry, latitude, longitude, geohash and time_zone rarely or never changer per site.

So I suggest to use two series

energy_usage_point = {
    'measurement': 'energy_usage',
    'time': string,
    'fields': {
        'value': float
    },
    'tags': {
        'site': int
    }
}
energy_usage_site = {
    'measurement': 'energy_usage_site',
        'industry': string,
        'latitude': float,
        'longitude': float,