Recommended schema and method for lookups/"joins"?

Hi, I’m very new to time-series databases, so I’m hoping someone can help point me in the right direction.

I’m setting up Influx to monitor power usage in my house, using data reported by the utility power meters and collected by a Raspberry Pi. The data collection part is working great, but it needs a bit of massaging to really be usable for viewing/analysis. In particular:

• The data reported by the RPi has nothing except the time of the reading, the ID of the meter (a key value), and the reading (a field value). I want to be able to query readings by site name (main house, secondary apartment, etc) and function (solar production, consumption, net).
  • The different meters report at unpredictable and inconsistent intervals, so I’ll have something like a report every minute for one of the production meters but only every 5 minutes for a consumption meter, except that sometimes I won’t receive a report for several intervals in a row. So each report comes in at a different time and I can’t, for example, pivot on the field name in order to get production and net for a single site, because the report times are misaligned. I can’t even come up with a good query range - if I want to see usage patterns over a given ten minutes, for example, one or more of the meters might not have sent even a single report in that time, but the last-known-reading still needs to be taken into account and displayed.