Python client library; how can I add a timestamp to a write request?

Hi All,

Another newbie here !

I am getting familiar with Influx/Grafana to create a reporting platform.

I’ve run through the docs and am able to successfully write and query data, however I would like to add a custom timestamp to data I’m injecting so that I can group like entries to graph the sum.

my basic write works, however whatever way I attempt to add a timestamp the write does not complete and fails silently…

I have tried using epoch as an integer as well as various iterations through datetime formats, but can’t seem to figure it out - any advice welcome pls

$ influxd version
InfluxDB v2.7.0 (git: 85f725f8b9) build_date: 2023-04-05T15:32:25Z

Here is the code I am trying to execute (the first ‘point1’ definition works, the second does nothing):
write_api = client.write_api(write_options=SYNCHRONOUS)

now = datetime.now()
print(now)
fmt = now.strftime(‘%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%SZ’)
print(fmt)

number1 = float(random.randint(20,30))
// point1 = influxdb_client.Point(“testdata”).tag(“location”, “site1”).field(“temperature”, number1)
point1 = influxdb_client.Point(“testdata”).tag(“location”, “site1”).field(“temperature”, number1).time(1692176445)

write_api.write(bucket=bucket, org=org, record=point1)

The output I get is (I’ve tried using both strings as variables for time in the point):
2023-08-16 11:57:57.717360
2023-08-16T11:57:57Z

Thanks in advance

never used python but based on the line protocol documentation timestamp should be in ns, unless you specify the precision like this:

write_api.write(bucket=bucket, org=org, record=point1, write_precision='s')

give it a try I just barely read this and came to that conclusion:

Start with Python and InfluxDB | InfluxData

Hi fercasjr,

Thanks for your comment - unfortunately that does not help; however it did put me on the right track