Node down alert with tickstack

Hi,

I am new to tickstack we have deployed tickstack in our environment currently we are monitoring cpu and memory usage.I need help getting to monitor node down alerts.Can someone guide through script to monitor node down/up alerts?

Regards
Kumaresan

are you using Kapacitor ?

Kapacitor script can raise alerting in case no data coming from node.

Hi Pawan,

Thanks for addressing. I am new to tickstk currently we are monitoring cpu and memory.

We have kcapcitor but not sure how to implement node down alerting. Could you help me on it? Is there any script or json for monitoring node down?

Regards
Kumaresan

Does this help?

Kapacitor Deadman Node

It processes data points in your measurement. Once throughput drops below your define threshold it will trigger an alert. When a data point is received it will recover.

Example: This will process data on the “mem” measurement, when data points drop below 100.0 in 1 minute an alert is generated. If an alert is generated its written to a log file. Take in consideration, this is from a template i use so some values are coded into settings files so some values will need updating.

the log file is created using the name variable, so the file will be whatever you name your alert

var data = stream
  |from()
        .measurement('mem')
        .groupBy(*)
        .where(whereFilter)

var trigger = data
        |deadman(100.0, 1m)
        .message(message)
        .id(idVar)
        .idTag(idTag)
        .levelTag(levelTag)
        .messageField(messageField)
        .durationField(durationField)
        .log('/tmp/'+ name + '.log')

trigger
    |influxDBOut()
        .create()
        .database(outputDB)
        .retentionPolicy(outputRP)
        .measurement(outputMeasurement)
        .tag('alertName', name)
        .tag('triggerType', triggerType)

trigger
    |httpOut('output')