No query results with large time range

I’m new to InfluxDB and hoping that my problem is a simple newbies mistake. I’m using InfluxDB 2.0.

I have been writing a series of data to InfluxDB at irregular time intervals. Sometimes 10 to 20 minutes apart, other times a couple days apart. The points in the series span about 60 seconds and are approximately 1 ms apart. I would like to be able to query for all of the series of data over a specific time range, say 30 days.

When I try this with the Data Explorer in the Influx UI, I am able to see the older time series, from a little over a week ago, but not the newer data, from a couple of hours ago. As I decrease the time range, I am eventually able to query for the newer data, but only when the range is 24 hours, so I am not able to to query for the older data and have it show up.

The bucket I am using has an infinite retention time and all other configurations are default.

Is this a bug, or have I set up my InfluxDB incorrectly somehow?

I also am using Grafana to visualize the queries and I get the same problem there.

Hello @Cole,
If you query for data from the last 30 days up until now you should be able to see all of you data.
What is your flux query?

Hello @Anaisdg,
Here is a simple query that I use for getting a variable in Grafana. When I use it in the InfluxDB Data Explorer, it also doesn’t work at specific time frames. It works for Past 2d, doesn’t work for Past 7d, and then works again for Past 30d.

from(bucket: "ASL_Test_Bucket")
  |> range(start: v.timeRangeStart)
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["_measurement"] == "ASL_Test_Processed_Data")
  |> keyValues(keyColumns: ["device_name"])
  |> group()
  |> keep(columns: ["device_name"])
  |> distinct(column: "device_name")

Hello @Cole,
Can you confirm that you have data with that column over the entire range?
What do you mean by it doesn’t work? Long query time? No results? Results exist in raw data view but you’re not able to graph them in the way you want?