[inputs.snmp_trap] Error resolving OID oid=.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0, source=192.168.1.19: not found

Dear Telegraf Community

My first time posting here and I am also new to Telegraf, so please go easy on me! :wink:

My goal is that I would like to use Telegraf to receive SNMP traps, but the requirement is that I do not want the OIDs to be translated. Instead of:

name=enterprises.9.9.41.2.0.1

I would like to have
name=.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.41.2.0.1

So, I simply tried to remove all MIB files on the system from /usr/share/snmp/mibs directory, but then I have the error message in the Topic in the journalctl.
Perhaps there is an easier way to disable OID translation?

I have seen this post:

which seems to be the same issue, apparently this should have been solved last year, but I still experience this today.
Telegraf version is 1.27.3

Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
Tom

Hello @Crayfish,
Welcome!
Hmm I’m not quite sure. Perhaps @jpowers or @Jay_Clifford might know?

1 Like

Hmm @Hipska is this possible?

1 Like

No need to remove any MIBs, just use the oid tag on the trap. That one is untranslated.

1 Like

Hi All

Thank you for very much for your responses!

@Hipska sorry, I don’t quite get it, what do you mean with: “…just use the OID tag on the trap…”?

Like I mentioned in my question, removing all MIBs from the system will still do some rudimentary translation, specifically .1.3.6.1.4.1 will still be translated to enterprises. I’m not quite sure why.

I managed to rig the plugins/snmp_trap/snmp_trap.go to have a no-op translator and use that by default. This seems to work.

I think the right way to do this could be to allow the snmp_translator in telegraf.conf to have the value none, which then does no translation. If I can find some time, I’ll open an issue, but I might be the only one who needs this :wink:

If there is some other way to achieve this, please do let me know!

Tom