How to get number of hosts posting stats to influxDB in timeseries graph using Flux?

I am using InfluxDB2 and have use case that needs to monitor the number of the active servers(hosts) posting stats to InfluxDB in time series graph. However below query does not give the expected result, could someone please help? Thanks

from(bucket:"test")
|> range(start: v.timeRangeStart, stop: v.timeRangeStop)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r["_meaurement"] == "cpu")
|> filter (fn: (r) => r["_field"] == "usage_system")
|> filter (fn: (r) => r["cpu"] == "cpu-total")
|> aggregateWindow(every: v.windowPeriod, fn:count, createEmpty: false)
|> distinct(column: "host")
|> group()
|> count()

This worked for me…might not be as efficient as other ways but I’m a noob.

from(bucket:“test”)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r["_meaurement"] == “cpu”)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r["_field"] == “usage_system”)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r[“cpu”] == “cpu-total”)
|> group()
|> keep(columns: “host”)
|> unique(column: "host")
|> count(column: "host")

If you’re using Grafana to visualize you can just set the filter query then use transformations there to get the same info. That’s if you’re using Grafana of course.

Thank you for your reply @RobR. I do use infuxDB query in Grafana. The ideal graph is in time series which x-axis = _time, y-axis = number of the host. With the below query, it returns count only and can not be graphed in time series though. Did I miss something?

Sorry…I missed the time series bit…I thought you wanted the current total count based on the time range used in a stat panel or something. How about this?

|> filter (fn: (r) => r[“_meaurement”] == “cpu”)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r[“_field”] == “usage_system”)
|> filter (fn: (r) => r[“cpu”] == “cpu-total”)
|> keep(columns: [“host”, “_stop”, “_time”])
|> group()
|> unique(column: “host”)
|> map(fn: (r) => ({ r with count: “nothing” }))
|> aggregateWindow(
every: 1m,
fn: count,
column: “count”,
timeSrc: “_stop”,
timeDst: “_time”,
createEmpty: false
)