Flux query using pivot in InfluxDB 2.1 extremely slow - how to sum up values of 3 different tags and create 1 new column containing that sum?

Hi there
The data structure, as it is currently in influxdb:

What I am trying to achieve:
I am trying to sum up the values of phase 1, phase 2, phase 3 to get a new value/column for total energy.
phase 1, 2 and 3 are values of the tag entity_id.

The problem:
The query is extremely slow. The bucket contains about 6 million entries per entity. It takes around 18 seconds of CPU time if performed from the console. I have tried the same in SQLite, where it takes around 3 seconds of CPU time.
I’m new to InfluxDB and it is my first time using flux. I suspect that there is a much better way to write this flux query. Could anyone give me a hint how to write a faster query? I’m using influxdb 2.1.1 on linux.

The query in flux:

from(bucket: "energy-data-test-05")
  |> range(start: 2020-11-14T00:00:00Z, stop: 2021-11-14T12:00:00Z)
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["entity_id"] == "phase1" or r["entity_id"] == "phase2" or r["entity_id"] == "phase3")
  |> group(columns: ["entity_id"])
  |> pivot(rowKey:["_time"], columnKey: ["entity_id"], valueColumn: "_value")
  |> map(fn: (r) => ({r with _value: r.phase1 + r.phase2 + r.phase3} ))

The query in SQL (in case my flux query is too convoluted to be understandable):

SELECT state_id, created, value, domain, measurement, 
SUM(states.value) AS 'total energy (Wh)'
FROM states
WHERE (states.entity_id ="phase1" OR entity_id = "phase2" OR entity_id = "phase3")
	 AND (states.created BETWEEN '2020-11-14 00:00:00' AND '2021-11-14 12:00:00')
GROUP BY created
1 Like

I have run into the same issue with the pivot function. This issue is NOT and issue on some lower versions of influx 2.x. I believe version 2.0.5 and 2.0.6 don’t have this issue. Might be worth checking out other versions to attempt to fix this.