Example code for InfluxDB Client sample

Their is a client sample code on InfluxDB github site that makes reference to a test client.

https://github.com/influxdata/influxdb-client/blob/master/client_test.go

I have been doing code in C on and off for 20+ years and php/perl 20+ years also but I have only been using Go Language for about a week or 2 now. Still trying to get upto speed with Go. This might be very basic question.

Anyways, if someone could point me to an example of using that go client. Simple code example of open a connection to influxdb. Selecting the results of several columns ( of different types!!! ) and then dumping that select into an array. String/int/float array or into single arrays of each of the columns.

I am having hell with getting data back out of influxdb!

From the example on InfluxDB Go page using their example and having the select pull just one column that is float64 and mod the code to below

val := row[1].(float64)

I get error

panic: interface conversion: interface {} is json.Number, not float64

goroutine 1 [running]:
main.main()
/tmp/influx-test.go:83 +0x69d
exit status 2

I do not understand what json.Number is or how to convert that over to float64 which is how the data it stored in influxDB… If someone knows of a easier way to just use Influx Go Client… I have looked for 1/2 of the day and I can not find anyone who has posted example code on using the Go Client for InfluxDB…where they walk through simple examples getting the results out of influx and into arrays in GO.

Hello. I’m the developer of that library.

I think you found a bug/usability problem in the library. Thank you! The problem is that, at the moment, the server returns a JSON blob. Unfortunately, JSON has no way of separating floats from integers. So the json.Number that you see is a Go string that was a number in JSON.

I’ll work on fixing this and then inform you when I’m done.

1 Like

Thank you! I could not figure out what I am doing wrong.