Python InfluxDBClient - How to read a single measurement and nothing else (SOLVED)

I am new to InfluxDB moving from MySQL for this particular project. I have an energy and pool management system that I wrote in Python and I have successfully been able to write my data to InfluxDB via the InfluxDBClient for Python but I am having a problem reading the data back out again.

Basically, I need to be able to generate a query that returns a single number and I keep getting (what looks like) json back as my result that includes a bunch of other information. I say “what looks like” json because the result that I am getting back fails the json validator.

Here is my query from the cli:

> SELECT XXX340_ch4_w FROM energy ORDER by time DESC LIMIT 1
name: energy
time                          XXX340_ch4_w
----                          ------------
1522164296000000000           -1101.375

Here is my python code:

def read_energy_data(db, measurement, device):
    client = InfluxDBClient(pooldb.influx_host, pooldb.influx_port, pooldb.influx_user, pooldb.influx_password, db)
    results = client.query(("SELECT %s from %s ORDER by time DESC LIMIT 1") % (device, measurement))
    return results

Here are the results returned with that query:

ResultSet({'(u'energy', None)': [{u'XXX340_ch4_w': -1101.375, u'time': u'2018-03-27T15:28:00Z'}]})

What I need to be returned is just the -1101.375 and nothing else. When I attempt to feed it into the python json parser it fails and attempting to validate it via https://jsonlint.com/ also fails.

I also attempted this:

client = InfluxDBClient(pooldb.influx_host, pooldb.influx_port, pooldb.influx_user, pooldb.influx_password, db)
    results = client.query(("SELECT %s from %s ORDER by time DESC LIMIT 1") % (device, measurement))
    watts_in_use = list(results.get_points(measurement=measurement))
    return watts_in_use

Which resulted in this:

[{u'XXX340_ch4_w': -1101.375, u'time': u'2018-03-27T15:39:12Z'}]