Windows Services Monitoring plugin

Hi, hopefully i have this in the right category.

TICK stack newbie here so if you could explain like im 7 that would be fantastic.

I’ve been following the Github example for the win_services plugin THIS ONE

I got the script to work and email me with an alert when a service changes its state but when i was testing i was only collecting a couple of measurements which was fine, however i’ve added my script to my live server and i receive an email for all services that arent currently running (about 60 emails!!).

Script I’m using

var db = 'telegraf'

var rp = ‘autogen’

var measurement = ‘win_services’

var groupBy = [‘host’, ‘service_name’]

var whereFilter = lambda: (“host” == ‘DESKTOP-N31JAB1’)

var name = ‘Monitor Windows Services’

var idVar = name + ‘:{{.Group}}’

var message = ‘’

var idTag = ‘alertID’

var levelTag = ‘level’

var messageField = ‘message’

var durationField = ‘duration’

var outputDB = ‘chronograf’

var outputRP = ‘autogen’

var outputMeasurement = ‘alerts’

var triggerType = ‘threshold’

var crit = 4

var details = ‘Removed the HTML from here for now’

var data = stream
|from()
.database(‘telegraf’)
.retentionPolicy(‘autogen’)
.measurement(‘win_services’)
.groupBy(‘host’,‘service_name’)
|alert()
//.crit(lambda: “state” != 4)
.stateChangesOnly()
.message(‘Service {{ index .Tags “service_name” }} on Host {{ index .Tags “host” }} is in state {{ index .Fields “state” }} ‘)
.id(’{{ .Name }}’)
// Email subject
.message(‘{{ .ID }}:{{ .Level }}’)
//Email body as HTML
.details(details)
.email(‘phil@email.co.uk’)

I did try to post it using the preformatted text (it looks like the ‘code’ option). Sorry it didnt work

I’ve omitted email address and the HTML markup for the alert email.

RIght now it alerts me for every service that isnt running (state 4), which is causing a lot of noise. Is there a way to make it only send out an email if the state changes to any other state?