Problem with sql server plugin and high number of series

Hi guys,

I’m new with influx and I want to ask you for help. I think that i have some problems with configurtion or sql server plugin for telegraf have bug.

Few days ago i saw a lot of errors in telegraf log:
2019-11-08T13:36:50Z E! [outputs.influxdb] when writing to xxx: received error partial write: max-values-per-tag limit exceeded (100000/100000): measurement="sqlserver_requests"

I’m started to dig deeper and i found that sqlserver_request measurement have very high cardinality:

name: sqlserver_requests
count
-----

from 204K of Total! And the most of it is command tag(or column, tag key - i don’t know yet how to name it)

I’m use influx only to monitor VM’s with MS SQL server.
7 vm’s
20 mayby 30 DB’s

I’m know that i can change limit for max-values-per-tag but it’s not a solution for me.
Can I do something to reduce series cardinality for sqlserver_requests??

Thanks

Hello @Skiba01,
Welcome and thanks for your question. Have you come across this post yet?
In it there is:

This is a configuration setting . It does not cause the database to stop, it causes points to stop being written that have new tag values. Its important to understand the number of series being written.

The major difference between tags and fields is that tags are indexed and fields are not. I would suggest this article on line protocol as an introduction to our data model.

There is also a major feature we are working on which might help your usecase.

Here is the documentation on max-values-per-tag , which is just a configuration setting.

Thanks for answer :slight_smile:

I’m read a lot about tags, series, keys, sets etc. and i think that i start understand it.
I know that i can change max-values-per-tag, but this is not a point.
I think that 194 000 series for only one measurement is to much (Totaly i have 204 000 for only 7 virtual machines).