Is it possible to automatically configure Telegraf inputs?

Hello! Excuse the noob question but I’ve only recently started working with the TIG stack. My background is mostly in software development.

Right now, I’m working with a network admin because he asked me if I could make his life a bit easier.

The current situation is that he has hundreds of devices that he needs to monitor and from what I understand, tens or hundreds of data points per device using OIDs. Firstly, it’s a bit of a hustle trying to get all these OIDs. Secondly, configuring the Telegraf plugin to have every single OID that he needs manually also seems laborious.

I was wondering if it was possible to introduce some automation into the whole workflow to make things a bit more smooth.

Hi @v1rtu3,welcome to our community

what are the things you have in mind when you say automation ?

1 Like

Thank you @MarcV!

What I’m trying to do is, to get all the information that I need e.g Cpu usage, uplink state, bandwidth stats etc. from the networking devices and as I understand you need MIBs or OIDs to get these metrics? And once you’ve gotten the certain OIDs, they need to be configured into the Telegraf config file in order to be able to query them using Chronograf or Grafana.

The current issue I’m facing is that I need an efficient way of getting all those MIBs or OIDs inside the network. I was thinking a script could be written to help with that.

Also, the next step would be to get all these inputs configured inside Telegraf.

I guess my ultimate question is how do you guys usually setup something like that? How do the pros do it?

Again thanks, any info on the matter would be appreciated.