InfluxDB restart problem and data loss on 32b ARM SBC

I’ve been running InfluxDB on my small ARM machine for a couple of months now, and it has been seemingly working well except when the daemon has to restart.

8 core ARM, 2GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Ubuntu 16.04, InfluxDB 1.3.5 (and rest of tick stack). Telegraf and a custom application feeding db via udp. Chronograf showing multiple plots as far back as when database was last restarted.

A week or so in there was a problem after the machine had an abrupt restart. I had to recreate the db to get it now running again, and just chalked it up to a result of some of the initial fumbling around to get it running.

Yesterday I had to restart the machine again, and when it came back up there was only a couple of hours of data. I searched around for a solution and came across a variety of config settings to adjust (cache and memory sizes, number of concurrent tasks, etc) which I did… but now the daemon won’t start at all, failing with an error about tsm being unable to allocate memory.

Searching around about that brought up a few concerning posts about 32b address space limiting the db size to 2-3GB. That is concerning because the goal is to (nearly) fill the ssd. Seems like a strange limitation for a database, if true.

So can anyone offer any input on:

1. how to avoid loss of data beyond a few hours old when restarting
  2. how to fix the tsm out of memory
  3. whether influx is actually useful in my use case… I’d hate to have to abandon what seems like quite a nice tool stack

Thanks,
Andrew

Update: I updated to 1.3.7 (leaving my influxdb.conf file untouched) and now the service starts and some of the data (about a week) is showing up in Chronograf. I see a few instances of this error in the journal:

error compacting TSM files: cannot allocate memory engine=tsm1