I am lost: which query language to use!?

All,

I have 25+ years of experience in querying relational databases with SQL. As I started using InfluxDB 3 years ago I learned about the limitations of InfluxQL and decided to get used to FLUX. I hate it until today, to be honest :wink:

Now, on coincidence, I read about Flux being in “maintenance mode” and further read thinks like: “If you are interested in transitioning to InfluxDB 3.0 and want to future-proof your code, we suggest using InfluxQL.”. But InfluxQL still does not allow to proper join tables as far as I know. Windowing by calendar months and years is a must have for me as well → not supported in InfluxQL. You even have to use a “v1” API if you want to use InfluxQL. All of that does not feel like the way to go to me

I like InfluxDB. A lot. But how should I build my queries now to be safe for future updates? Is there any alternative I am not aware of? Did I get something wrong here? I am puzzled, can anybody help me out?

Thanks in advance,
Keith

I understand why it would be confusing as we’re in an awkward transitionary state right now. If you’re on our Cloud Serverless or Cloud Dedicated platforms, which are based on InfluxDB 3.0 bits, you should use either InfluxQL or SQL.

If you’re on open source, the only options currently available are 1.x and 2.x which both support InfluxQL and Flux. My recommendation there is to use InfluxQL if you wish to make your use of query language portable to InfluxDB 3.0 open source.

We will have a release of InfluxDB 3.0 open source (called InfluxDB Edge) later this year and it will support InfluxQL and SQL natively. That will be through new APIs and for InfluxQL, we will support the v1 API. So you’ll be able to point to it as though it is a 1.x InfluxDB server. Although some things like Continuous Queries and SELECT INTO won’t be supported, most everything else in InfluxQL will be.