Help writing continuous query subtracting two series

I am new to influxdb and writing queries and need some help. I would like to setup a continuous query that subtracts two values with the result being stored. I am not very familiar with query language so that is where I am struggling.

What I want to do is subtract

SELECT * FROM "Home" WHERE "topic" = '/house/power/main'

from

SELECT * FROM "Home" WHERE "topic" = '/house/power/solar'

and store in a “topic” called “/house/power/netmain” at the same time interval the rest of the data is being collected.

I am using influxdb v1.2 and my data is setup as shown below. This data is going to Grafana so if there is a way to do this there without the continuous query that would work too.

time host topic value 2017-05-17T01:31:49.303162625Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/main" 2323.419 2017-05-17T01:32:20.30254561Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/main" 2304 2017-05-17T01:32:51.308210601Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/main" 2322.935 2017-05-17T01:31:49.303162625Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/solar" -1250 2017-05-17T01:32:20.30254561Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/solar" -1240 2017-05-17T01:32:51.308210601Z "AllingtonServ" "/house/power/solar" -1238

@adamalli In order to do math on data like you are describing you need to write that data as fields. Your writes in that case would look as follows:

AllingtonServ,tag1=tagValue house_power_main= 2323.419,house_power_solar=-1250 TS
AllingtonServ,tag1=tagValue house_power_main= 2304,house_power_solar=-1240 TS
AllingtonServ,tag1=tagValue house_power_main= 2322.935,house_power_solar=-1238 TS

Then you would use a continuous query similar to the below:

CREATE CONTINUOUS QUERY non_solar_generation ON data BEGIN
  SELECT (mean(house_power_main) - mean(house_power_solar)) AS derived 
  INTO AllingtonServDerived
  FROM AllingtonServ
  GROUP BY time(30s)
END

You could also skip the CQ and just run the math on the fly with the inner SELECT statement there.