Consider points outside of time range

Hello,

I’m new to influxdb (and grafana) and I’m trying to create my first dashboard.

I would like to have a graph of temperatures and I have many sensors that collect data. Some are sending data really often and some others not really.

(Data are sent from home assistant to influxdb then visible in a graph in grafana)

So I did my first request:

from(bucket: "my_bucket")
  |> range(start: v.timeRangeStart, stop: v.timeRangeStop)
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["entity_id"] == "something" or r["entity_id"] == "something_else")
  |> filter(fn: (r) => r["_field"] == "value")
  |> map(fn: (r) => ({ _value: r._value, _time: r._time, _field: r["friendly_name"] }))
  |> aggregateWindow(every: v.windowPeriod, fn: mean, createEmpty: false)
  |> yield(name: "mean")

and I can get a graph (yay) like that:

As you can see I have many problems ^^

• some sensors are just showing one point (even having data from past/future): If there is a existing point in the past or in the future I would like to draw the graph instead of just showing one point.
  • If the timerange is from something in the past to now, I would like to consider the last point as the current value and then draw the graph as I get the last point now.

I’m searching on google but I can’t really find something that is matching my needs. I already tried with the createEmpty: true as a param in the aggregateWindow but it does not work as expected as I’m seeing a graph with 0 value between every point (the graph has no sens at the end).
I also saw the fill(usePrevious: true) but it does not seems to make any difference (or I’m using it in a wrong way).

Could you please help me to fix those problems ?

I’m not sure about the category in which I must put that topic, if it’s not the right one, just tell me and I’ll try to move it.

Xavier

Hello @X4V1,