Combining Data from Multiple Databases in InfluxDB 2 using FLUX

Hello InfluxDB Community,

I hope this message finds you well. I’m new to InfluxDB 2 and the FLUX language, and I have encountered a challenge that I would greatly appreciate your expertise and guidance with.

Context: Tracking Sales and Shipping Data

In my project, I have two buckets:

1. Database 1 (db1): Contains quantity data, which represents the total quantity of products available for sale at specific timestamps. Each timestamp has a corresponding quantity value.
  2. Database 2 (db2): Contains transfers data, which represents the amount of product units transferred from one location to another. Each transfer has a timestamp associated with it.

Objective: I would like to create a final table that combines the data from db1 and db2 to provide a comprehensive view of quantity and transfers. The resulting table should have the following structure:

• Row: Each unique timestamp across both databases.
  • Columns:
    • “quantity”: Represents the total stock quantity available at each timestamp.
    • “first_quantity”: Represents the initial stock quantity at the first available timestamp.
    • “transfer_amount”: Represents the number of product units transferred at each timestamp.
    • “cumulative_transfer_amount”: Represents the cumulative total of product units transferred up to each timestamp.
    • “change_pct”: Represents quantity/(first_quantity + cumulative_transfer_amount) - 1 for each timestamp.

To illustrate with an example, let’s consider the following sample data:

Database 1 (db1):

Timestamp Quantity
2023-06-01T08:00Z 100
2023-06-01T10:00Z 80
2023-06-01T12:00Z 120

Database 2 (db2):

Timestamp Transfer Amount
2023-06-01T10:00Z 5
2023-06-01T12:00Z 8

Desired Result:

Timestamp Quantity First_Quantity Transfer Amount Cumulative Transfer Amount change_pct
2023-06-01T08:00Z 100 100 0 0 0.00
2023-06-02T10:00Z 80 100 5 5 -0.24
2023-06-03T12:00Z 120 100 8 13 0.06

My Question: