Aggregating results by a field in chronograf

I’m a beginner in influx and have been trying to run a query with no success.

I have a measurement called “hotel_search”. It contains a “has_availability” tag and the following fields: hotel_id, checkin and checkout. I’m currently trying to find the TOP unavailable hotels. The desired outcome is:

hotel_id,unavailable_results (amount of failed searches)
1, 100
2, 90
3, 80

Initially I’ve tried to group my measurements by the hotel_id, but it fails as it is a field.

Is there another way I can achieve this?

@dani09 Are you using Flux or InfluxQL in Chronograf?

@scott I’m using InfluxQL.

Ok, you’re going to need to use a subquery here. The inner query should calculate the number of vacancies per hotel. The outer query should return the top N results of the inner query.

How do you calculate the number of vacancies per hotel? Is the has_availability tag scoped to each hotel or to each room?

@scott It’s scoped to each hotel, and it’s actually a boolean field. It indicates if the hotel has any available rooms. Unfortunately I do not know the amount of rooms per hotel.

Ok, I may have misunderstood the original question. What identifies a hotel as a “TOP unavailable hotel”? How should the hotels be sorted? In your example desired results above, what does unavailable_results represent and how is it calculated?

@scott the unavailable_results represent the amount of points in which the has_availability tag is 0, ie, the hotel has no available rooms. The top unavailable hotels is a list of hotels whose searches resulted in no available rooms. They should be ordered by the unavailable_results in a descending order

Ok, I think I understand. But looking back at your original description, I want to clarify something: