[Solved] TICKscript error: Missing value

Hello,

I am new to the TICK stack and still getting familiar with the DSL syntax / figuring out how it all works. I’m currently writing a simple stream script that…

• Takes two key values from two different measurements and rewrites them (with a new name) into a new measurement
  • Creates a new key value based on a mathematical operation of the two measurements

I created a simple TICKscript to do this, referencing the JoinNode documentation as I went.

TICKscript

// Get inodes_total
var inodes_total = stream
    |from()
        .database(db)
        .retentionPolicy(rp)
        .measurement('container_fs_inodes_total')
        .where(lambda: "sr" == 'k8s')

// Get inodes_free
var inodes_free = stream
    |from()
        .database(db)
        .retentionPolicy(rp)
        .measurement('container_fs_inodes_free')
        .where(lambda: "sr" == 'k8s')

// Calculate difference, aggregate metrics
inodes_total
    |join(inodes_free)
        .as('inodes_total', 'inodes_free')
        .tolerance(1s)
        .fill('null')
    |eval(lambda: "inodes_total.gauge")
        .as('inodes_total')
    |eval(lambda: "inodes_free.gauge")
        .as('inodes_free')
    |eval(lambda: "inodes_total.gauge" - "inodes_free.gauge")
        .as('inodes_used')
    |influxDBOut()
        .database(db)
        .retentionPolicy(rp)
        .measurement('container_fs_inodes')
        .precision('s')

Problem

I’ve gone through a couple revisions of this script – the most success I had was with creating the new measurement with the new key value (from the mathematical operation). However, I was unable to rewrite the two existing key values from the two measurements into the new measurement.

To resolve this, I thought I would try creating an eval statement to reference the original key value and then rewrite into the new measurement. This last attempt is reflected in the TICKscript above. However, the error I get in my Influx shell is…